A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS – a place to bury strangers

CDrocket girl recordings2008


A Place To Bury Strangers have often been called « the loudest band in New York ». This may very well be the case, but unlike much so-called « loud » rock and roll that’s out there, APTBS is not loud simply for the sake of it. The sonically overdriven sound they’ve accomplished is no clumsy accident, but a carefully cultivated and well-maintained entity all its own, fostered by an unbridled passion that’s clearly evident in every live show they play and each recording they make. A Place To Bury Strangers does not so much play songs as allow them to pour out. They are songs about longing, heartbreak and confusion played extremely well and at a passionately loud volume.
While there are obvious reference points: Pornography-era Cure, early Ride, My Bloody Valentine, and pre-1990s Jesus and Mary Chain, the sound is all their own, in part due to singer/guitarist Oliver Ackermann’s day job of building custom guitar pedals (see deathbyaudio.net). Coupled with the solid bass of Jono Mofo and the relentless drumming of Jay Space, the APTBS team is a force to reckon with.
These ten songs have been floating around for years on CD-Rs sold at shows and MP3s circling around the Internet, but are presented here uncompressed in their full glory, professionally mastered for CD. From the time that Killer Pimp first approached APTBS to release these songs until the time of the release, interest in the band has exploded, they have played South By Southwest, and have been offered recording deals with bigger sized labels. We’re excited to release these songs because even as self-recorded tracks they are all blistering, intense, energetic, and powerful.
At the time of release, many of these songs are being given new treatments for a wider release on a larger label. This disc serves as a document of the songs dirty and raw early incarnations and will no doubt become a collectors’ item over time.


1. Missing You
2. Don’t Think Lover
3. To Fix The Gash In Your Head
4. The Falling Sun
5. Another Step Away
6. . Breathe
7. I Know I’ll See You
8. She Dies
9. My Weakness
10. Ocean

Informations complémentaires

Poids 100 g