ARABROT – revenge

CD digisleevefysisk format2010


Rupture de stock

ÅRABROT is a Norwegian noise-rock band from Haugesund, Norway named after the city garbage disposal at which local authorities found it appropriate to place a school for troubled youths. In the same way these garbage disposals are a yeasty oasis of scents and liquids that through the years will mutate into indefinable masses, ÅRABROT is a band that continuously develops into something more raw and intriguing.

Since starting out in 2001, ÅRABROT’s main core has been Kjetil Nernes (songwriter, guitar and vocals) and Vidar Evensen (drums and visuals), and in recent years, has added noise artist Stian Skagen as a regular on-and-off contributing member of the band. Collaborating with producers such as Billy Anderson (MELVINS, NEUROSIS), Emil Nikolaisen (SERENA MANEESH) and Steve Albini (NIRVANA, HIGH ON FIRE) the band has released three full-length albums and a grotesque bouquet of singles and EPs. 2009 alone produced two critically acclaimed EPs, « AbsoluteNegativisM » and « I Rove », together with a double LP with side project NERNES/SKAGEN, and last but not least the masterpiece « The Brother Seed », the latter earning international attention and a Norwegian Grammy-equivalent nomination.

ÅRABROT is about to represent for this generation what the sum of the MELVINS, BIRTHDAY PARTY and SWANS were to the generation before them; a source of pleasure from both auditory and moral excesses. The band’s foundation is noise-rock, but has strong elements of industrial music and noise. In ÅRABROT there is also a dramatic component few other bands in history possess: histories are told and emotions are laid out in a way that’s closer to the compositional techniques of experimental film and theatre than traditional song structure. Last but not least they are drawn to the lyrics that combine elements of two of the most stimulating works of human kind: The Bible and Pornography.


1. The Most Sophisticated Form Of Revenge
2. Interim Me
3. The Wretched Child
4. The Dolorous Years
5. Murder
6. End Of First Chant I
7. The Pilgrimage
8. End Of First Chant II
9. The Primrose Path

Informations complémentaires

Poids 70 g