CODE ORANGE – love is love // return to dust – CD digisleeve

CD digisleevedeathwish records2012


« Love is Love // Return to Dust » is Code Orange Kids' debut album, recorded at God City Studios by Kurt Ballou (Converge). From the first organic stick clicks of opener « Flowermouth (The Leech) » musical chaos explodes in every direction imaginable. As their tangle of guitars and angular percussion violently lurches about, it's apparent that Code Orange Kids are unconcerned with following the predetermined path of any existing sub-genre (i.e. they are their own unpredictable animal). Code Orange Kids' dirges effortlessly become staccato bursts in « Liars // Trudge » and « Nothing (The Rat), two songs with so many hairpin turns they are difficult to put into words. While adversely, songs like « Colors (Into Nothing) » and « Calm // Breathe » unfurl as beautifully layered musical expanses. As impressive as these dynamics are, it is Code Orange Kids' untamed heaviness and emotion in the title referenced songs « Choices (Love is Love) » and « Bloom (Return to Dust) » that will leave you floored. These two monstrous beasts smear the divisions between art-rock, punk, doom, and noise in a way never heard before. Without a doubt, « Love is Love // Return to Dust » is truly impressive, as much a work of art as it is an album. A shining example of the bright future that awaits the world of aggressive music.


1. Flowermouth (The Leech)
2. Around My Neck // On My Head
3. Sleep (I’ve Been Slipping)
4. Liars // Trudge
5. Colors (Into Nothing)

1. Nothing (The Rat)
2. Roots Are Certain // Sky Is Empty
3. Choices (Love Is Love)
4. Calm // Breathe
5. Bloom (Return To Dust)

Informations complémentaires

Poids 100 g