IFUKUBE, AKIRA – godzilla (OST)

VINYL LP (grey)death waltz recording1978


Rupture de stock

For the first time ever on vinyl the full score to the legendary monster movie that started it all GODZILLA by AKIRA IFUKUBE

Death Waltz Recording Company are proud to be unearthing the legendary monster of our time and bringing him to vinyl in the shape of Akira Ifukube’s score to GODZILLA. Starkly different to the usual view of The Big G as the ultimate monster wrestler, Ifukube’s music is intense, dark, and reflects Ishiro Honda’s film as a pure horror film. While the score opens with the jaunty riff that would eventually become Godzilla’s Theme, the majority of the music alternates between pounding brass and mournful strings as we witness the death and destruction that comes in Godzilla’s wake.

Ifukube uses low string notes as a sinister motif to herald the arrival of the creature, and then turns up the brass to eleven, creating an atmosphere of pure apocalypse. More horrifying still are the piercing strings that score the oxygen destroyer, the device that would destroy Godzilla. Big laments are used as the characters question the use of the machine as a weapon of mass destruction, and it’s this remarkable human quality that infuses the score with its unique feel. Help us celebrate the sixtieth birthday of the greatest monster to walk the earth, and the powerhouse musical experience that is Akira Ifukube’s GODZILLA.


1. Godzilla Approaches
2. Godzilla Main Theme
3. Ship Music / Sinking Of Eikou-Maru
4. Sinking Of Bingou-Maru
5. Anxieties On Ootojima Island
6. Ootojima Temple Festival
7. Stormy Ootojima Island
8. Theme For Ootojima Island
9. Japanese Army March I
10. Horror Of The Water Tank
11. Godzilla Comes Ashore

1. Godzilla’s Rampage
2. Desperate Broadcast
3. Godzilla Comes To Tokyo Bay
4. Intercept Godzilla
5. Tragic Sight Of The Imperial Capital
6. Oxygen Destroyer
7. Prayer For Peace
8. Japanese Army March II
9. Godzilla At The Ocean Floor
10. Ending

Informations complémentaires

Poids 350 g