JOY – under the spell of – CD

CD digipacktee pee records2014


Southern California psychedelic savages JOY have signed to Tee Pee Records, the NYC independent label known for releasing landmark albums from acts such as High on Fire, Graveyard, Earthless and Sleep. The fast-rising band will release its new album Under the Spell of Joy on August 19. The follow-up to JOY‘s 2012 self-titled debut, Under the Spell of Joy was recorded and mixed by ASTRA guitarist Brian Ellis and features eight smoldering songs that suck the listener into a a surging sea of searing solos and psychedelic swagger.

The sound of JOY has been described as “a spaced-out sonic groove-ride” and “outer reach freak out”, but that hyperbole alone doesn’t do justice to the group’s measured mode of attack.JOY puts a premium on establishing both structure and dynamics, its kaleidoscopic flurry and full-throttle riffage is anchored by both subtle detail and surprising textural depth. Record Collector says that JOY “take the blues about as far out as they can stretch ‘em and they’re far more psychedelic than a band like Blue Cheer ever was, even in their most lysergic moments,” a claim that can be debated by those whom have seen JOY share the stage with acts such as Dead Meadow, Harsh Toke, Hot Lunch, Sacri Monti and at last year’s well-documented west coast tour with psychedelic giants (and new labelmates) Earthless.

Special guests on Under the Spell of Joy include Nik Turner (Hawkwind), Parker Griggs(Radio Moscow) and Brian Ellis.


1. Under the Spell
2. Miles Away
3. Confusion
4. Evil
5. One More Time
6. Driving Me Insane
7. Death Hymn Blues
8. Back to the Sun

Informations complémentaires

Poids 80 g