PROTOMARTYR – relatives in descent – VINYL LP (black)

VINYL LP (black)domino recording2017


After a year of extensive touring in support of 2015’s The Agent Intellect, Protomartyr returned to their practice space in a former optician’s office in Southwest Detroit. Inspired by The Raincoats’ Odyshape, Mica Levi’s orchestral compositions, and a recent collaboration with post-punk legends The Pop Group, for Rough Trade’s 40th anniversary, the band began writing new music that artfully expanded on everything they’d recorded up until that point. The result is Relatives In Descent, Protomartyr’s fourth full-length and Domino debut. Though not a concept album, it presents twelve variations on a theme: the unknowable nature of truth, and the existential dread that often accompanies that unknowing. This, at a moment when disinformation and garbled newspeak have become a daily reality.


1. A private Understanding
2. Here is the Thing
3. My Children
4. Caitrionia
5. The Chuckler
6. Windsor Hum

1. Don’t Go To Anacita
2. Up The Tower
3. Night-Blooming Cereus
4. Male Plague
5. Corpses In Regalia
6. Half Sister

Informations complémentaires

Poids 240 g