PSYCHIC ILLS – one track mind

CDsacred bones records2013


When it comes to following the beat of their own drum, New York’s Psychic Ills have exemplified the phrase since their beginnings in 2003. Initially spawned from electronic-centered home recording experiments, they progressed into all-night full-band exploration in a neighborhood where noise wasn’t a problem. They soon after evolved into a live band seemingly at home within the extended jam, exploring a variety of musical terrain. The early years saw several releases for Social Registry, tons of time on the road, and collaborations with artists as diverse as Gibby Haynes (Butthole Surfers) and Sonic Boom (Spacemen Three/Spectrum). In 2011, their first effort for Sacred Bones, Hazed Dream traded in the synthesizer space-outs and raga rumbles, and delivered a record of sunburned psych pop, awash in warm tones and blues damaged songwriting.

In 2012 they did two full US tours including a stop at Austin Psych Fest, and had their first trip to China. In August of 2012 they released the song “Take Me With You” as a split 7-inch with Moon Duo. They recorded One Track Mind, their fourth full length, this fall. The album features collaborations with and some production by Neil Michael Hagerty of Royal Trux/The Howling Hex and features artwork by former 13th Floor Elevators songwriter and artist Powell St. John. There will also be a limited value-add covers 7” available on initial orders, containing the Ills’ takes on The Godz’ “Radar Eyes” and private press psych pop obscurity Cosmic Michaels’ “Cosmic Michael Theme”. One Track Mind is perhaps the most straight-forward rock record the Ills have ever made. They will be touring in support of it heavily in both Europe and the Us. The drum keeps beating and they keep following it…


1. One More Time
2. See You There
3. Might Take a While
4. Depot
5. Tried to Find It
6. FBI
7. I Get By
8. City Sun
9. Western Metaphor
10. Drop Out

Informations complémentaires

Poids 100 g