SWEET APPLE – the golden age of glitter – CD

CD digipacktee pee records2014


SWEET APPLE, the band of rockers from groups you’ve heard before is back! The Golden Age of Glitter, a 10-song power-pop masterpiece featuring J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr., Heavy Blanket), Tim Parnin (Cobra Verde, Chuck Mosley), John Petkovic (Cobra Verde, Death of Samantha, Guided By Voices) and Dave Sweetapple (Witch, Vardlokk) will be released on April 8 via Tee Pee Records. The LP is the follow up to the band’s critically celebrated debut Love & Desperation, a record that featured « 70s arena rock-like songs » (Pitchfork) and presented « one stomp box in the power pop of their youth, one in the heavy indie thud they invented » (SPIN).

The Golden Age Of Glitter was recorded from California to Massachusetts, with Cleveland in the middle and, according to vocalist John Petkovic, « is an album about connecting and missing flights, arrivals and departures. » Featuring 10 songs of SWEET APPLE’s irresistibly infectious rock, The Golden Age of Glitter travels a wide swathe of musical styles — almost as wide as the geography represented by the band — and revolves around a running narrative where the band becomes the theme (the group’s members are spread out across the country). Lyrically, the songs focus on « travel and distance », longing for a new, different place and then tackling the reality of getting there. Yes, SWEET APPLE cashed in their frequent flyer miles for a trip full of sunny, dark, moody and heavy sounds – the kind we’ve heard these guys do in other bands, but never before like this! The Golden Age of Glitter features special guest contributions from from Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees, Queens Of The Stone Age) and Robert Pollard (Guided By Voices) among others. « Mark and Bob are longtime friends and we’re all fans of their music and approach to making music, » says Petkovic, who played with Pollard in Guided by Voices.


1. Wish You Could Stay (A Little Longer)
2. Reunion
3. Boys In Her Fanclub
4. Let’s Take The Same Plane
5. Another Desert Skyline
6. I Surrender
7. Troubled Sleep
8. We Are Ruins
9. You Made A Fool Out Of Me
10. Under The Liquor Sign

Informations complémentaires

Poids 80 g