UNSANE – improvised munitions & demo – VINYL LP (black)

VINYL LP (black)lamb unlimited2021


Unreleased first Unsane album originally slated to be released in 1989
Chris Spencer explains below:
“Improvised Munitions” was a release that was made for Circuit records in ’89 that we thought was our big break as they were putting out up and coming bands like Cop Shoot Cop and Surgery and Monster Magnet. We made the record and gave it to Ernie, the guy that ran Circuit, and got the test pressings. Following our approval of the test pressings, Ernie disappeared. We were soon to learn that Ernie had a massive cocaine habit and had owed some drug dealers a shit ton of money. I have never seen him again since he handed me a test pressing one night at the Pyramid club. I have since always wondered if he possibly OD’d or was killed for a drug debt. At the time, this was a huge let down. We (Unsane) managed to use a couple of tracks for singles, but while on tour my junky roommates stole all of my original early Unsane 7 inches and the Circuit test pressing. The original Circuit record now seemed gone forever. We re-recorded some of the tracks to put on the first full length for Matador and soldiered on with non-stop touring. Years went by, and then I heard a rumor that someone actually had a copy of the test pressing. More than likely the one that my drug addled roommates had taken. After a few years of trying to find it with no luck, there was finally a good lead via multiple different people. it turned out that a guy (Jordan Mamone, Thanks!) had bought it at a used record store on the Lower East Side back in the day, stored it in his record collection and still had it in great condition. For me, it was crazy to hear it after all this time. We were able to copy and remaster it and as hard as it is for me to believe, we will actually be able to get the record out. The Lamb Unlimited version will also have 4 tracks of super early Unsane stuff that I used to go around to clubs like CBGB’s, ABC No Rio and the Pyramid to try to get shows when we had nothing out. For what it’s worth, this is the very beginning of the band Unsane…”
This release is an 11 track new early Unsane album featuring the 7 songs from original concept of “Improvised Munitions” and 4 songs from a cassette demo that was used to get shows locally. Additionally, the slide’s for original artwork for “Improvised Munitions” created by original Unsane bassist Pete Shore and photographer Jens Jurgensen (also member of Boss Hog) has also been found, thus the fully original concept of this album has finally come to fruition.


1. Cracked Up
2. Cut
3. Bath
4. Slag
5. Jungle Music (IM)
6. Concrete Bed (IM)

1. My Right (IM)
2. Bring It (’88 Demo)
3. What is This? (’88 Demo)
4. Wastd Time (’88 Demo)
5. Trial (’88 Demo)

Informations complémentaires

Poids 230 g