WOVENHAND – star treatment

CD digipackglitterhouse records2016


„Star Treatment“ kicks off full tilt with the anthemic charge of “Come Brave” – the song’s galloping four-on-the-floor drums driving churning swells of droning, chiming guitars and organ as Edwards’ soaring voice compels us to rise and join the fray. “The Hired Hand” takes a more Western bent with swaggering guitars awash in reverb and a throbbing bass line before the chorus erupts with massive open guitar chords. Further, “Crystal Palace” sounds like Eastern European folk driven through a massive wall of amplifiers while a full gospel choir sings just beneath the gurgling surface of guitars. “Crook and Flail” sounds exotic in its twanging acoustic instruments and tabla/dumbec drum pattern. Elsewhere, “Golden Blossom” is a lush and beautifully unabashed love song, strummed out in a simple, catchy melody that builds to crescendo with the chorus refrain, “only you, my love and your light.” Throughout, Wovenhand deftly merge the outer reaches of rock and world folk sounds with increasing urgency and force.

While Wovenhand ought to be a familiar name to anyone interested in forward-thinking music, the album title „Star Treatment“ isn’t a reference to our celebrity culture obsession. Rather, it’s a clever reference to concepts of astrolatry, or humanity’s enduring interest in the stars of the night sky: “It’s ethereal in its concept,” Edwards explains. “There are many layers, as always. I’ve been paying attention to the stars in the sky and in literature, and it’s a theme throughout the album.”

The current lineup includes guitarist Chuck French, bassist Neil Keener (both of Planes Mistaken For Stars) and drummer Ordy Garrison, now joined by piano/synth player Matthew Smith (Crime & The City Solution). „Star Treatment“ was recorded at Steve Albini’s legendary Electrical Audio in Chicago with engineer Sanford Parker, who also helmed Wovenhand’s 2014 album “Refractory Obdurate”.

„Star Treatment“ will be released as a joint release and collaboration between Sargent House (US) and Glitterhouse Records (EU) on Sep 9th. When asked about the forthcoming album and the following tour Edwards simply replied “give up your dead!”.


1. Come Brave
2. Swaying Reed
3. The Hired Hand
4. Crystal Palace
5. Crook and Flail
6. The Quiver
7. All Your Waves
8. Golden Blossom
9. Go Ye Light
10. Five by Five
11. Low Twelve

Informations complémentaires

Poids 80 g