WRIGHT, SHANNON – honeybee girls – VINYL LP (black)

VINYL LP (black)vicious circle records2009


In 1999 Shannon Wright thoroughgoing and an enthusiast artist, like few are, was born after disbanding from her first band Crowsdell. She then shaped her own insular world with her “do-it-yourself punk aesthetic” revealing a lone penchant for songwriting. Flight Safety (1999), Map of Tacit (2000), Dyed in the Wool (2002) and Over the Sun (2004) each explore different layers of uncompromising songs. From dark violent sounds to soft intimate pop melodies, these are challenging and unconventional surroundings, supported with a spare production, twice signed Steve Albini.
She (re)discovered the friendliness around artistic exchange in France, thanks to another exceptional musician: Yann Tiersen (Composed soundtrack to Amelie). Despite their shyness those two got to know each other in order to record an album which managed to abolish the boundaries between their two worlds. When Shannon touched the piano – she had no reason to feel timid with Yann Tiersen – it flourished and suggested still unexplored abilities.
Shannon Wright's earnest singularity and adept capacity for writing beautiful songs comes into palpable sight on Honeybee Girls. With her long-standing friend Andy Baker (bass player and sound engineer) and with Brant Rackley (drummer in Japancakes) Shannon Wright stirs again her richness in composition and a voice that's reached a radiant ampleness. The lavish sounds and distant pianos on “Honeybee Girls” and “Father” are unlike and incomparable to her previous recordings. Wright's unique percussive guitar playing affirms its individualism on “Tall Countryside” and “Embers in your eyes”. The piano, the organ, the guitar and the voice are wreathed with a unique spirit accompanied with vague sounds providing an impression of space completely new in her discography.
Honeybee Girls is undoubtedly a red-letter in Shannon Wright's career. She conveys a distinct forte for immediate melodies with unparallelled generosity and sensibility through new means.


1. Tall Countryside
2. Trumpets on New Year’s Eve
3. Embers in Your Eyes
4. Honeybee Girls
5. Black Rain

1. Father
2. Sympathy on Challen Avenue
3. Never Arrived
4. Strings of an Epileptic Revival
5. Asleep

Informations complémentaires

Poids 250 g